It Can’t Be!

It’s that time of year.  Well for me anyway.

To do what?

Glad you asked.  To start (from seed of course) some of the tasty things I will be harvesting this fall / winter.

I have started cabbage and broccoli.  Mid August I will be adding lettuce and in early September I will sow the spinach directly into the garden.

I think those four crops will suffice for this fall.  I’m going to take it easy.

The 3 rows on the left are cabbage and the 3 on the right are broccoli.  You sure wouldn’t know it by the look of the plant.  That is why you must label them, especially at this young age.

Yes.  They are leggy.  Thanks for noticing.  Poor things.

I am super excited about the cabbage this year.  I chose the Premium Late Flat Dutch Cabbage from Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Co.  This cabbage should be massive in size.  The heads can weigh as much as 15 pounds.  Thats a lot of sauerkraut baby!  Did someone say Corned Beef and Cabbage?  Don’t mind if I do.

My wonderful helper, helping.

There are still things happening in my current garden and we can’t forget to celebrate that.  **Or they will die on me.**

Like for instance the cute Mini Red Pepper.  Great for dipping.

Anyone need any parsley?

This has grown well all season and could care less about the 100+ temps.  Though it is starting to get little yellow tips on the leaves.

The zucchini has also done very well this year.  The produce has been outstanding even though the leaves in the picture are looking a little lackluster.

You know what?  Who cares about all that garden chatter when I get to tell you about my newest toy.  I finally was able (thanks to my wife) to put in an irrigation system.  No more late nights wandering aimlessly around with the hose.  No more squirting myself in the face while I try to adjust the arc of the sprinkler.  Is it even possible to use a hose without having to walk the length of it to pull out the kinks?!!

More time with the family, I think that is money well spent.

15 thoughts on “It Can’t Be!

  1. Yep– definitely that time of year. My fall garden will most likely go in the ground in early September. Hopefully that won’t be too early for the lettuce and spinach, given the temperatures. Like you, we’re planting broccoli since that did well last year. We’re also planting carrots, snow peas and onions. The snow peas will go in the ground last since they grow so quickly and don’t like the heat at all. Do you have any luck with fall peas? This will be my first attempt at adding them to the fall garden.

      • Thanks. I suppose I’ll just have to wait and see. My peas did pretty well in the spring, but once the days started really heating up, they fried from the bottoms to the tops. I have plenty of seeds left from the spring, so here’s hoping!

  2. Very nice! Can’t wait to start my fall seeds. I’m so jealous of your parsley! I have mine growing on my apartment balcony and it’s right under a huge tree that has grown a lot since last year and is shading out my balcony way too much this year, so my parsley (and a lot of other things) is growing so slowly.

      • That’s really a bummer. Hopefully it will be a very long time before it affects your garden at all. I’ve no idea what I’m going to do with mine for the rest of the year. Next time we move, I’m going to be super picky about balcony location if we’re in another apartment.

  3. Thanks. Hadn’t even thought about fall, but I guess I could be starting some plants. Good idea. Never had a fall garden, but I want to this year. Everything is costing so much in the store. I’ve even heard about growing lettuce indoors and I’m thinking of trying that. We enjoy salads and I have a nice sunny spot.

  4. Yum. You’re inspiring me to begin gardening, which I really want to do! And speaking of 100 degree temps, I’m in SoCal. How much watering do you have to do to keep everything happy right now?

  5. I know of no better way to connect your family with the earth than with a nourishing, life-giving garden. I’ve planted all of my leftover green onions (bought from the grocery store) in our garden, along with a couple leeks… any suggestions on how to coax them to grow a bit faster? Fall plants are foreign to this girl. A pot of basil is trying to stay awake on the kitchen counter for the season as well– how do I keep it from dying? A pretty vague question I’m sure, but you seem to have expertise in the area. I just want pesto through the winter! Thanks for sharing your writings with the world.

We're all friends here... What's your take?

