Basil Pesto

In my last blog post I promised to reveal an excellent basil pesto recipe.

Have I ever let you down?  Don’t answer that.

I’ll be honest and say this is not some family recipe passed down from generation to generation.  It is from Food Network.  I can say though I have tested it thoroughly and give it the Seed To Salad seal of approval.

This recipe uses a ton of basil which actually was really helpful because I needed a place to use the large bounty I have this year.

Try it and let me know what you think.  My first response was “molto deliziosa”.  *sharp kiss to fingertips*  And I don’t even speak Italian.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup pignolis (pine nuts)
  • 3 tablespoons chopped garlic (9 cloves)
  • 5 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups good olive oil
  • 1 cup freshly grated Parmesan

Directions

Place the walnuts, pignolis, and garlic in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a steel blade. Process for 30 seconds. Add the basil leaves, salt, and pepper. With the processor running, slowly pour the olive oil into the bowl through the feed tube and process until the pesto is thoroughly pureed. Add the Parmesan and puree for a minute. Serve, or store the pesto in the refrigerator or freezer with a thin film of olive oil on top.

Go here for a printable recipe.

9 thoughts on “Basil Pesto

  1. That’s a lot of pesto! I make pesto a lot too, but smaller batches. Haven’t tried it with walnuts yet though. Do you sow more throughout the summer?

We're all friends here... What's your take?

