A Break-Up Letter to High Fructose Corn Syrup

High Fructose Corn Syrup (sweetie),

Although it’s been well over 20 years ago, it seems like we just met.  I remember that bright and sunny day like it was yesterday.  You were so sweet, and honestly, you still are.  The hunger your brought to my soul was so powerful.  I missed you when you were gone.  I hurt until the time I would see you again.  I am confident you made me a bigger person.  Everyone could see it, especially when only wearing swimming trunks. The looks, the glances, they could see I was in love as I carried you around the beach in that cooler.  Oh, the memories.

The thing I must tell you now is going to hurt you a lot more than it is going to hurt me.  I have found another.  Her name is Honey.  I think she will be more honest with me, more natural.

You might be asking yourself why I am doing this.  I’m just not myself when I am around you.  It is like I am on some kind of high, and when you leave I crash.  I crash hard.  I can’t go on living like this.  You have said time and time again that you think I am afraid of commitment.  I admit that is true, but I am also afraid of how you affect me on the inside.  The lies you told, the broken promises, I just don’t trust your label anymore.

Don’t worry.  You are subsidized, you will find another.  There are others dying to fall into a long term relationship with you.  I have seen some wandering around in the soda and junk food aisles at the grocery store looking for love.

I am sure I will see you around from time to time.  Just don’t be surprised when I look the other way.

Sincerely,

Consumer

*************************

(To understand why I wrote this letter read The Dangers of High Fructose Corn Syrup)

Teaser Photo Attribution By:  shegathers

6 thoughts on “A Break-Up Letter to High Fructose Corn Syrup

  1. Pingback: Break Up Letter to High Fructose Corn Syrup | shegathers

  2. Fantastic. I wonder if more humor in regards to this issue would make people listen more. There’s all those “that guys” who spit words at others who then spit them right back. You could work with organic producers to make ads promoting an organic, less processed junk life! I’m enjoying your posts. Keep them coming. And thanks for liking my blog.

  3. Pingback: How Spindrift Makes Natural Sodas Without High Fructose Corn Syrup (It's Harder Than You Think) - Bowie, TX 76230Bowie Rocks

We're all friends here... What's your take?

